My left foot … and my first saree!

September 12, 2008 at 11:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Well its been a quiet couple of weeks due to the plaster remaining in situ until the 11th Sept, which has meant my movements have been restricted, not so much by the pain but actually trying to get about, for a women who has always been told slow down when walking I’ve certainly have got my comeuppance!

Saying that I have been in to work( at Angoda Hospital) for the odd meeting or to sit in on training, Been managing to do a half day ,as my leg gets a bit swollen ,so I retire to home to get my leg up! Mates have been good calling round or staying over. As have the three wheeler drivers as I stop to do any shopping at the road side stalls from the back of their vehicles.

A women with a half leg plaster cast on is certainly a sight of great amusement perfect strangers stop and enquire ”What happened ?” as I can’t get away very quickly I repeat the very unexciting tale of the injury, I would really like to say that an elephant stood on it at the pererhera but it won’t wash! I know they are been kind but it caught me completely by surprise the amount of interest generated!

I attended a Dana ceremony last week for Mrs S the land lady for her good health (recently had a mastectomy for breast cancer).When we were receiving our string bracelet(prithnula ) from the monk he said he would pray for my speedy recovery so I could get back on my bike! Bless him!

Yes I have got my first Saree (see photo on face book)I bought the material some weeks ago with the help of one of the social workers, then we had to arrange to go to the seam stress to measure me for my blouse. She was a little taken a back that I did not wear a pointy bra like Sri Lanka ladies …(more Madonna I thought) however we resolved the issue by putting less darts in oh us westerners causing problems. Anyway the blouse was finished so the big try on took place in the social work office.

I am under strict instructions not to attempt to wear it until I am fully mobile … at the risk of falling. People are getting the picture that I am accident prone as my mother says I was at walking at 9 months and falling ever since! I let you know how it goes…needless to say I am now pot less( removed on Wednesday) but wearing a support bandage and walking again.

Went to Mulleriyawa today- was welcomed by both the women and staff who said they had missed me…ahh I had missed them too. Nothing much happened in my absence however the  good news is the ladies have continued at the paper factory … working full time and now negotiating their salaries hoorah!

It was good to be back even for a half day-  back to normal on Monday –  I can’t wait…  but will be walking hemin hemin …slowly slowly for a while!

 

 

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sarah, as I can apparently no longer say ‘Pace!’, I’ll say “Categorize!” and “Tags!” instead! Great blog, I’d just like the whole of the rest of the world to find it too. (lecture over) Andy xxx


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

