Girls just wanna have …wheels?

May 8, 2008 at 12:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

       

 Hi there May is here and don’t we know it the temperature is hot hot hot! Have been told it is the hottest month …luckily the last few days have been a little cloudy which gives a little respite from the rays. Now don’t get me wrong I am not complaining just adjusting. Its ok when you’re walking, all beit slowly, its when you stop, I feel like am leaking..ok not a pretty sight so have taken up some Sri Lankan ways i,e using my brolly for shade and always having a hanky …yes a hanky – a tissue will  simply not do – its for dabbing!- (a hanky is more absorbent.) Therefore I recently purchased 4 hankies just like mum used to pack us off with to school many ,many years ago, they never lasted very long I always lost them… no fear of repeating that as these are always in use.

You may have seen the photos of some of my recent activities… guest of honour at the Horticultural Project, which involved taking part in the games such as eating a cream cracker hanging from a thread, the pics made realise that I certainly am an obvious sight, taller with whiter hair than the average SL! Has its benefits – once met never forgotten – resulting in getting a couple of lifts to work recently – no fear of mistaking me for any body else is there?

On the social front last week we were invited to the American Embassy, pleased to say much more enjoyable than the BHC. Met Keith from Skipton(who had been at the BHC last week as he works there)who was drinking with Dave from Hampshire who was on a flying visit  to SL on duty as a body guard to the Duke of Gloucester( who …that’s what I thought, he opened the new BHC building last Monday so now you know where your taxes are going!). Mores to the point whilst asking Dave about his job he informed me that his daily allowance varied from country to country…whilst in SL it was equivalent to my monthly salary! Well I had no hesitation in my insistence that he buy the beers for me and the gang for the rest of the evening…bless him he did as well – result! So we all had a great night lots of chatting and dancing til about 1.30am.

We think thats it for “ nights out “for a bit  although we did spot a quiz night advertised … of course we will have to give it a shot!

I had an interesting evening on Saturday I was planning on an early night but was called by my landlord down stairs, to be informed that it was his birthday and was offered a drink of brandy to celebrate. I think I mentioned he speaks little English- it appeared that he may have been at the bottle earlier! So there was I sipping my brandy, trying to make small talk with a tipsy , happy SL ,who was very repeatative-  telling me that SL was very poor country – that he was a union man and had been powerful in his job ,then he asked “you are vegetable?” I did smile as I replied that I was indeed a vegetable! I did think how many times have  people tolerated me when drink has been taken, so if you are one of them … many thanks!

Sunday was a very civilised affair meeting up with the gang at the Galle Face Hotel for high tea eat as much as you like for 630 rupees, it was a treat as VSO informed us earlier in the week that we were to receive a rise in our allowance in line with rising costs in SL …we now get 30,000 rupees a month about £140. 

This Saturday (10th)I am working-  going up country to Kurunegela on a field trip to visit a rehab unit  with 4 other collegues.I am looking forward to seeing more of SL and of course the progress made in other areas.Work is  getting interesting I have a better idea of what I am supposed to be doing …writng an action plan, and generally trying to co ordinate the changes …ooh very exciting.

Next weekend is Poya weekend  we have Mon and Tues off so we (Podi, Jesse,Joanne ) will be heading south to UNAWATUNA we will meet Lynn there and some other VSO Vols so a good time to catch up and chill. For those who have holidayed with me know I’m no beach babe… but I feel that SL is the place to try being quiet , enjoy the sun and read for hours at atime …the sun cream will be packed!I have however spotted a SL cookery course at Una …involves going to market to buy the goods then being shown how to  prepare a meal to which friends can join in the evening …sounds right up my street I’ll let you know how it goes!

Finally  wheels… what she up to now you ask? I have put in a request  for a push bike for work-  it will be more conveinent and it will keep me fit  of course there will be pictures!

Bye for now

 P.S. in the garden this morning I saw a huge MONKEY! i am in the jungle !

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

